Pancake Fridays: Pie Pancakes

Sooooo…you have some leftovers today.

You probably ate a lot yesterday. You probably stuffed yourself with mashed potatoes and green beans and turkey with gravy, Parker house dinner rolls and turkey-shaped butter, maybe some carmelized roasted vegetables and salad with herbs, quinoa and black beans if you were lucky.

Then you probably went back for a round two, of pumpkin pie, cherry pie and maybe apple, or even chocolate, not to mention the three types of ice cream that showed up out of nowhere. Um, why?

So you probably don’t feel like a hefty breakfast today.

But on the off chance that, you know, you actually ate like a normal person yesterday and saved room because you knew Pancake Friday was coming, here’s what you’re going to do to make the most awesome post-Thanksgiving brunch. Ever.

Notes

My bestest bestie best healthy baking friend S came back from my hometown where she now works to her hometown where I now work. Confusing? Basically, we are reunited (you may remember her from this) and she brought a pancake recipe with her that is SO. GOOD. Like, it rivals Le Peep. Like, I feel like I could end the Pancake Friday series right now because I’ve already found the one. No need to have any other pancake recipes, ever. Just this.

S had fond memories of these pancakes from childhood and managed to snag the recipe from her friend who made them. Worth every letter typed in that facebook message.

These pancakes are extremely puffy given the low ratio of liquid to dry ingredients. The recipe originally called for half a stick of butter, but we made two batches and liked them equally with half the butter. We used white whole wheat flour and loved the results, but S’s friend likes to double the batch and use 1 cup all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour.

The powdered sugar is key. Don’t try to make these without it. Regular sugar will not do the trick.

Lastly, if you’re using leftover pie that would not go well with cinnamon, leave it out! And if you don’t have pie, you can still make these, just without the pie 😉


 
{leftover} Pie Pancakes
Base based on S’s friend’s recipe

Yield: 8-10 pancakes

2/3 cup milk (your choice)
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup flour (any kind/combo, but white whole wheat is great!)
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
cinnamon to taste (optional)
1/2 cup leftover pie, cut into 1/2″ chunks

In a large bowl, combine milk, egg, melted butter, flour, powdered sugar, baking powder and cinnamon, if using. Use a fork to stir until well combined (lumps are not necessary; batter should be thick and smooth). Gently fold in the pie chunks.

Heat a lightly greased pan over medium heat for at least two minutes before cooking. Pour batter into pan 1/4 cup or less at a time. Batter should be extremely thick and  hard to pour; they should cook about 2-3 minutes on each side.

Place finished pancakes in a 200 F oven to keep warm if that’s your thing, or let your relatives demolish them hot off the platter with butter and syrup. And more pie, obviously.

50 responses to “Pancake Fridays: Pie Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Peanut Butter & Banana Dutch Baby | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  2. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Classic Buttermilk Pancakes + Cakey Cinnamon Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  3. These look fantastic! This is the first time I’ve ever heard of putting pie in cupcakes, and I love the idea. So creative and fun! I’m really intrigued by the recipe too, particularly the powdered sugar part. Do you know why it has such an effect here?
    Thanks for making me crave pie and pancakes, such a good influence haha! 😉

    • Thanks so much 🙂

      I think the powdered sugar really helps make these super fluffy because it contains cornstarch, and higher the dry to wet ingredients ratio you have, the thicker your pancake will be. So I can only assume that powdered sugar helps soak up more moisture than regular sugar 🙂

      I know, I’m such a great influence aren’t I? Haha.

  4. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Vegan Cookies ‘n Cream Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

    • Haha yay please do!!! I really loved these!! So good warm, straight off the pan…or topped with butter and syrup if you can stand to wait 🙂

  5. Pingback: Vegan Jam Thumbprint Cookies | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  6. Erika, you constantly outdo yourself – these pancakes look to die for. I cannot believe how thick, moist and fluffy they look! What an awesome recipe and fantastic way to use up leftover pie.

    • Omg tell me about it! I am TOO excited for Christmas cookies. My roommate and I want to have a big holiday cookie exchange party and I can’t wait!

    • Haha come over! Do you like marzipan? I think it might be involved in my next pancake endeavor…why didn’t you have pie?? You crazy. It’s a staple!

    • LOL that’s exactly how I feel! Yesterday I was like “I’m never eating again” and then STUFFED myself with cauliflower pizza two hours later. Haaaha. Thanks a lot Yesle 🙂

  7. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  8. Wow, these sound amazing, I’m going to make these for our Sunday breakfast!! I love the first picture with the maple syrup dripping down…I can never seem to accomplish that kind of picture!! 🙂

    I used to love Le Peep when we lived in Chicago, haven’t heard that name in years!

    • Yay, let me know how you like them! And thank you so much, I had my boyfriend help me out with the pouring that shot 🙂

      Aw man, I love Le Peep! My first pancake love is Stacks in California, but since I’ve been in Texas, it’s my fav 🙂 Do you have a favorite spot for pancakes?

      • My favorite pancake of all time is the huge apple pancake from Clark’s in Chicago! It’s got tons of buttery, caramelized apples on the bottom, and then they turn it over and top it with lots of powdered sugar. Used to eat it all the time at 2 AM during college 🙂

Say hi!