I’ve Moved! Pancake Fridays @ The Pancake Princess + a detox update

WHERE. have I been?

I know. I know. I’m sorry. I’ve been trying to do a million things at once, doing all of them halfway, falling into a state of paralysis and indecision, and doing nothing but watching episode after episode of The Vampire Diaries and Revenge and New Girl and trying to wean myself off my hopeless 12 episodes-in-four-days-addiction to Scandal since it’s not coming back until next fall. NEXT FALL. DO YOU REALIZE HOW FAR AWAY THAT IS?

Okay whew! Someone’s a little crazed.

Here’s the deal: I’ve moved.

http://thepancakeprincess.com is officially my new home! Woo!

And it’s Friday so hop on over there for these long-awaited mystery pancakes!

Mystery pancakes!

Thank you all for your lovely comments, positive thoughts, and well wishes for my move! You are fabulous. If you ever need help moving your own blog, feel free to shoot me an email and I’ll help you out as best I can (aka I will talk your ear off about how confusing awful horrible and then suddenly not confusing at all my move was). There were definitely times along the way where I was just like. What. The Heck. Can I please just ask a live person my questions?

And if you have any tips on switching to a self-hosted wordpress, HIT. Me. Up.

Lastly, my detox: I know there are some curious cats out there wondering how it’s going. So basically:

  • Then: the first half of week 1 was a stomach-growling adjustment; the second half I felt fantastic and really fell in love with some of the meals! Cauliflower rice stir fry is my jam. Warning: I don’t know if this was because I was like, really toxic or something, but the first two days I felt super bloated. As the week progressed, I felt much, much better! (Although peeing turned into a 10x/day exercise).
  • Now: I’m nearing the end of week 2 and just had my first pancakes of the cleanse (banana oat coconut pancakes) and I feel GOOD. I’ve found that getting a lot of sleep is really crucial because otherwise I feel run down and you know how they say people who are sleep deprived tend to eat more? I think it’s true. When I feel crappy, I sometimes turn to food to make it better. Not good. Plus, getting lots of sleep helps the whole going-to-bed-hungry thing. Going to bed sooner = less time awake to bemoan an empty stomach (which I like).
  • Getting in tune: I honestly feel so much more in tune with my body than ever before. The first week was such a pure diet that now, when I’ve started to eat grains, fish and legumes again, I can really feel the difference. When I taste-tested just a tiny bit of a sugary recipe last weekend, my tongue literally felt dirty afterwards. When I ate made these delicious cherry-date oat bars and brought them for a snack, I found it left me craving carbs for the rest of the day. Which brings me to…
  • Cravings: Although I’ve totally craved cake, pancakes, muffins, cookies, etc, it has been unbelievably easy to pass up the store-bought M&M cookies, kolaches and doughnuts in the office kitchen and I’ve been able to grumpily resist the siren call of my boyfriend’s sacks of tortilla chips, bags of homemade chocolate chip cookies and loaves of luscious chocolate zucchini bread (courtesy of his family and their cute care packages) and the gallon of Blue Bell Dessert Trio ice cream that he keeps in his freezer. How is he so fit? Utter mystery. Anyway, what’s kept me on track is…the fact that I’m on track. And so close to reaching the finish line. And I feel so good, I’m almost afraid to jeopardize my body with sugar. My best tips for curbing cravings: hot herbal tea, fresh or dried fruit, but mostly: DISTRACTION. Meeting friends for coffee, trying to figure out my new blog, going for a walk, doing yoga, reading–works every time.
  • Benefits: Do I have more energy? Debatable. I feel super energized during the day, but I get SUPER tired at night, starting between 9-10pm. I never feel bloated and I’ve never woken up regretting what I ate the day before. I’m gaining confidence in my self-restraint as each day of clean eating passes and mentally, I feel like my body is so much cleaner than it’s ever been. I feel in control of my body and what I eat. Plus, I’m totally learning how to cook with garlic and herbs and stuff. Before, I would just cut out anything that looked foreign/too time-consuming, but I’ve been following each recipe to the letter and the flavors are just fantastic–nothing I would have ever dreamed would come out of my kitchen. And I’ve dropped about 5 pounds. But I lose and gain water weight like no one’s business, so I would never advocate this as a weight loss tool.
  • Downsides: My grocery bills have been noticeably higher, what with all the random ingredients it calls for that I didn’t have (tahini, cardamom, fresh herbs, unsweetened shredded coconut, mustard, frozen mango and berries, red lentils, etc.). On the bright side, I’ve been buying little sample baggies of some of the spices which is not only super cheap (I got a few tablespoons of curry powder for about 12 cents) but lets me taste test before I commit to a whole bottle. Plus, it’s totally expanded my horizons and I’ll definitely be buying a lot of these new ingredients again. This plan also involves rather a lot of food prep, but I think the most time-intensive meals are in the first week–don’t be scared off, because it gets easier!

If you don’t want to read all of that: I LOVE this detox. I’m having a great experience, and it’s totally changing my outlook on food, blogging, life. I would definitely recommend it. If you want to keep up with what I’m eating, I post a lot of photos on instagram. What are your opinions of posting short updates on Facebook? I’d like to do shorter, more frequent updates without spamming you with blog posts. But I don’t know.

Anyway, happy Friday! Thank you for being such awesome followers and friends, and see you at The Pancake Princess 🙂

19 responses to “I’ve Moved! Pancake Fridays @ The Pancake Princess + a detox update

  1. The detox sounds so good! I’ve been limiting my sugar and fat intake too. I have green juice of veges and fruit in the morning for breakfast instead of my English breakfast, and I tend to choose healthy options for dinner and lunch. I had a feeling of not wanting to eat the store bought cakes or cookies anymore. Congratulations on your new site! Do you mind me asking which wordpress layout you used? It’s very well done 🙂 Take care.

    • Good for you!!! That’s my goal (to not crave sweets…someday!)

      Thanks so much for the sweet compliment! I’m using 2012 I believe–it’s the default layout when you switch over to wordpress.org 🙂

  2. One positive thing about having to buy random ingredients…is that you will be surprised at how many other dishes you make (with your detox/eating healthy) that will require your recent purchases! At least thats what I’ve found !!:)

  3. Congrats on a super fruitful cleanse (no pun intended!) it sounds like you’re well on your way to an amazing start for 2013. As for the big move, “wow and more wows!” I’m I treated to see how it all works out for you and I hope it means great things for your blog too!

  4. Erikaaa, I’m SO happy you’re back. I’ve missed your posts! I’m seriously so excited for your new home at The Pancake Princess. Since you so generously offered in your post, I will definitely be picking your brain in the near future about your switching experience. 😉 I can’t wait to hear all the details!

    I LOVE the breakdown on the progress of your detox. You gave great descriptions as to what you’re going through. It sounds like you’re doing great and you’ve already made it through the beginning hurdle! I’m happy to hear you’re feeling so good and congrats on your weight loss!! Oh and I completely agree with you about peeing so much haha and about getting more sleep.

    It’s great to have you back!!

    • Ugh my comment just got deleted but thank you!!!!!! You totally made me smile with your sweetness 🙂 Definitely feel free to pick my brain, although I’m definitely still on the learning curve!

      Glad you enjoyed the detox breakdown–I thought it was getting a bit long, but it’s been such an awesome experience!! Hahaha I’m so glad you understand mee 🙂 I swear, our water bill is going to be higher because of all my peeing. Whoops.

  5. Love the new blog! Looks great! I will definitely hit you up with questions if I decide to move mine. Btw, I totally forgot to try to meet up with you over the holidays! I just saw some of your instagrams eating throughout the Mission. I love Humphrey Slocombe and Tartine. Let me know the next time you’re back in the Bay Area!

    • Ahhhhh I forgot too!!! I was just so busy eating! Hahaha. But yes, I’ll definitely let you know! It probably won’t be for awhile, but let’s stay in touch 🙂 Omg Tartine is literally The. Best. My fam and I tried their lemon bar, croissant, scone, and chocolate chip cookie and they were all fantastic. hoooooooooomgggg. Hope everything is going well for you! 🙂

  6. Your new page looks great! 🙂 Doing any kind of detox always gets me bloated for a few days, almost to the point of asking myself “is this working”? Good for you for sticking with it 🙂

    • Right??? I was like, if this doesn’t die down in a few days, I don’t think it’s worthy it…but it did, thankfully! Thanks for the positive reinforcement :))

      • Oh no problem, and trust me I know from experience the frustration that comes with “cleansing” no wonder people give up. I wish they knew that it does pass 🙂 Good for you and keep it up 🙂

Say hi!