Vegan Creamed Corn Cornbread

This is just a week full of special posts! Today, I’m excited to be joining a bunch of very talented bloggers for the November edition of Collectively Creative. Started by the wonderful Kelly at Cobwebs, Cupcakes and Crayons, Collectively Creative draws bloggers together to riff on one central topic. Everyone then publishes their posts on the same time on the same day. This month’s theme was “Thankful.”

When the lovely Leah of Inspire and Indulge invited me to join in on the fun, I was super flattered. Also super excited, because the “thankful” theme gave me yet another platform to spread the love about a cerrtain vegetable-that’s-not-really-a-vegetable.

I think by now we all know how much I love corn. Cornbread, in particular.

And corn seemed like an appropriate topic to discuss, considering the upcoming holiday that, you know, generally features corn in some way. Or it’s at least featured in every rendering of first Thanksgiving with Pilgrims and Indians ever.

So let’s talk corn: that cheery golden goodness is packed with fiber and tons of nutrients (including but not limited to: vitamin C, vitamin B3, manganese and vitamin B5). Plus it’s fairly low in calories and so deliciously versatile.

As a somewhat recent vegetarian, I’ve spent the last four years piling my Thanksgiving day plate with stuffing, sweet potatoes, rolls, green beans, salad, roasted vegetables and pie. Don’t get me wrong–I am totally thankful for all the tasty dishes my family always dishes up. I’m just saying that these vegan creamed corn cornbread muffins might be the new best thing to grace your table, multiplying the level of thankfulness of any vegans/vegetarians at your Thanksgiving table this year. I know my tastebuds were elevated in thankfulness at the combo of these light little muffins, grainy with cornmeal and flax and pocked with juicy corn kernels.

Please be sure to check out the links to other bloggers at the end of this post! Everyone is awesome!

Notes

This is a companion recipe, of sorts, to the Christina Tosi Cornbake I posted a few weeks ago. Remember that 2/3 can of creamed corn you use in that? This is where the other 1/3 of a can goes to become a wholesome and healthy incarnation of cornbread (yes, definitely on opposing ends of the healthy spectrum compared to the cornbake).

But if the cornbake AND these just too much cornbread for you to handle, you can double this recipe (it only makes 9 small muffins, after all) and add the entire can of creamed corn. The ratio is extremely adjustable.

By the way. Who knew that there’s no actual cream in creamed corn? It’s basically corn in a gloppy cornstarch mixture. Which I’m determined to make from scratch next time, but I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

It’s crucial to let the flax sit in the milk and honey mixture to let it thicken up a bit and soak in the  flavors before adding. The flax serves as the recipe’s egg replacer and you don’t want to dump it in with the rest of the dry ingredients.

Vegan Creamed Corn Cornbread
Inspired by Better Batter

Yield: 9 small muffins

1.5 tablespoons flaxseeds + 4.5 tablepoons almond milk
1 tablepoon honey

2/3 cups yellow cornmeal
1/3 cup quinoa flour (make your own!)
1 teaspoon baking powder
scant 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1/3 cup almond milk + 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/3 can cream-style corn
2 tablespoons oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a muffin tin or line with liners.

Combine the flaxseed, almond milk and honey and let sit for five minutes. Add the vinegar to the 1/3 cup almond milk; let sit for five minutes.

Combine cornmeal, quinoa flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a bowl. Pour the flax mixture into the almond milk and add the corn and oil. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour wet into dry. Stir until just combined and pour into greased pan or a lined muffin tin.

Nutrition facts (per 1/9 recipe): 113 cal, 4.4g fat, 17.5g carb, 1.5g fiber, 5.1g sugar, 1.8g protein

Creating a Thankfulness Photo Album (Organizing Living Essentials)
Thanksgiving Requests (Ponytail Kind of Day)
Rustic DIY Thank You Cards (NorthStory)
Our Family’s Thankful Journal (Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons)

49 responses to “Vegan Creamed Corn Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Vegan Cookies ‘n Cream Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  2. Erika, i love the blogs you named. All of you are wonderful!
    Your cornbread with cream style corn looks so savory! And with the almond milk the taste has to be out of this world; plus healthy.

  3. I always love everything you make…it’s aways salivating my palette! I’m dying right now looking at these. I a absolutely love cornbread but havent had any since going vegan!! This sounds so amazing.

    • Awww thank you so much! Your recipes are totally mouth-watering too! I really want to make your shot glass truffles over xmas. And there are so many vegan cornbread recipes that I want to try, I’d love to see your take on cornbread!

  4. What a great foodie event! I love the theme and I totally get a kick over how much you love cornbread (I LOVE it too! I haven’t found the perfect recipe yet so I better start sampling your recipes).

    • Haha thanks…ooh I would recommend starting with the “best cakey cornbread!!” It’s the most “traditional” of the bunch. But soooo cakey 🙂 It’s really actually kind of like a quickbread now that I think about it. I think I need to find a recipe that’s more craggy and CORNBREAD. Because the cornbake is like cake and these quinoa cornbreads are on the dryer side which is good for some things, but not so good for others…

      Okay evidently I could talk about cornbread for days. But basically…..you should make cornbread. I would love to read about it 🙂

      • lmao you can talk about cornbread all you want. I’m the same way about all food & baking – I can go on and on and on… If only I were this passionate about my day job! I have a cast iron pan that I haven’t used yet because I’m afraid of seasoning it. I need to break it out and bake cornbread in it for that amazing crispy edge. And YES – I love cakey cornbread, although craggy CORNBREAD is amazing too. I’ll go through your recipes and pick one out to make for Christmas. I’ll let you know how it goes!

        • Omg same! How can I become passionate about software? I would pay someone in baked goods if they could find me an answer.

          And girl, BREAK THAT PAN OUT! Lol I actually just bought my first cast iron pan and was all ready and excited to season it and then…realized it was already nonstick. So I’m pretty sure I don’t need to season it…but now that you mention it, I TOTALLY need to make cornbread in it!!

    • You’re right–it’s maybe isn’t quite like traditional cornbread, but it’s a great, healthy alternative. You wouldn’t believe how light they are! And eating them just feels like you’re doing your body a favor with all those whole grain nutrients 🙂

    • NO YOU DIDN’T!!!! Are you serious???? I am so jeals! She is definitely one of my celebrity crushes! How did you get to meet her and how was it??

      And this wasn’t exactly a bake off–just a post round up on the same theme 🙂 I can invite you the next time around, I’m sure they’d love to have you!

    • Aw yay I’m so glad! I hope you like it! Let me know how it turns out if you end up making it. Also cranberry chili sounds interesting…and divine, most probably 🙂 I’d love to see your recipe for it on your wonderful blog! Thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. Looks & sounds great Erika! I can’t believe ‘creamed’ corn doesn’t have cream – so deceiving haha. I’d be interested to hear how making it from scratch goes!

    I’m so happy you agreed to participate this month. You always have such delicious and inspiring recipes to share!

    • Thanks so much Leah 🙂 I’m so happy you invited me to join!

      And right? I triple checked the ingredients label, but no dairy in sight! A little bit freaky…but I also breathed a sigh of relief because it was much less caloric than I was expecting!

  6. Pingback: DIY ‘Thankful’ Dry-Erase Board « Inspire & Indulge·

Say hi!