Peach Cobbler Breakfast Squares

I HAVE BEEN GRANTED THE USE OF A FANCY NEW CAMERA.

Do you like it??

I do.

I think it’s a sliiiight upgrade from Instagram. Yes?

This weekend. I ate A TON of good food. I ate breakfast tacos three different times. I even passed up pancakes for migas espanolas during one memorable brunch…AND DIDN’T REGRET IT. (Unlike that one time I ordered some healthy egg burrito dish and ended up eating one bite of my meal and a full meal of everyone else’s pancakes).

Plus three different kinds of Sprinkles cupcakes. Oh, and I STUFFED MY FACE with white cheddar popcorn and tortilla chips and salsa in the car at a drive-in movie while watching part of that new Bourne Identity movie and “The Dark Knight Rises.” My boyfriend may be the best planner of dates ever. At least for munchy me. (Did I just say that? Who am I? It’s Monday.)

But the whole time, I was secretly craving some more of these:

Erm, they’re not exactly peach cobbler scones, which was the source of their inspiration. They’re more like crumbly cinnamon sugar bread slices sandwiching sweet cinnamon peaches.

Cinnamon sugar peach sandwiches with tender innards from the bubbling cinnamon-sugar peach juices. YES PLEASE!

Yes, I tried to make them healthy by adding oats and oat flour and white whole wheat flour. Yes, I looked for a scone recipe that didn’t use a whole stick of butter or an entire cup of heavy cream like that other recipe I use. And yes, therefore I agree it doesn’t really taste like a traditional scone.

BUT I LIKE THEM ANYWAY.

Notes

Because this dough uses so little butter, it resembled cookie dough more so than pie crust when I was rolling it out. The end result will be a little flaky, not too sweet, and (hopefully) loaded down with juicy summer peaches. If I were making these again, I would not hesitate to double layer the peaches across the dough–the dough is sturdy enough to handle an extra chunk or two of slippery, juicy peach.

I also want to try a version using a cream-based scone to see if that would turn out a more scone-like result. I was pretty happy, however, with the balance of oats and wheatiness in the dough. If you cut these into 12 small squares, two of these dainty things would be a perfect breakfast portion. Or one crumbled over some cool Greek yogurt accompanied by a few plump blueberries? Be my guest.

Peach Cobbler Breakfast Squares
Inspired by Joy the Baker

Yield: 12 small breakfast squares

  • 1 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk + 1 teaspoon vinegar
  • 1 large peach, sliced thinly

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or grease lightly.

  1. Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl.
  2. Cut in the butter and rub in until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar and enough milk to create a shaggy, soft dough.
  3. Turn onto a floured surface, knead lightly and roll out into a thin rectangle, approximately 1/2″ thick. Place peaches in a single layer across half of the rectangle and sprinkle with half of the cinnamon-sugar mixture.
  4. Fold other half of the dough over the peaches and slice into 12 squares, or desired amount. Brush top with excess buttermilk and sprinkle with remaining cinnamon sugar.
  5. Bake for 10 minutes until golden brown and cooked through. Let cool 15 minutes before eating.

Nutrition Facts (per 1/12 recipe): 110 cal, 4.6g fat (2.5g sat), 2g fiber, 3.6g sugar, 2.5g protein

Approximate nutrition facts for original recipe (per 1/8 recipe): 397 cal, 19.3g fat (9.7g sat), 1.7g fiber, 12.8g sugar, 6.8g protein

One response to “Peach Cobbler Breakfast Squares

  1. Pingback: Peach Pie Muffins « The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

Say hi!