Pancake Fridays(!!!) + Pumpkin Pancakes

The other day when it occured to me that I haven’t blogged about pancakes in, oh, FOREVER. Which is funny, because I make them, oh, ALL THE TIME. Or so.

I figured I needed to remedy this. So…ta-da! I’m starting a new series, starting today…PANCAKE FRIDAYS! This series will be all about you. As in me structuring myself to share more with you about my namesake obsession with this awesome food item.

Because really, what’s not to be obsessed about? Cakey carbs. There are probably as many adjectives to describe them as there are types of pancakes (aka a million bajillion), but um what more do we need than that? CAKE. CARB. DONE.

Pancakes are just a mind-bogglingly versatile food (German pancakes! French crepes! American flapjacks! Jewish latkes! Dutch pancakes!), and I can find something good to say about all of them. Except spongy pancakes. Gross.

Do you like your pancakes puffy and thick? Thin and silky? Crispy-edged? Plain? Drenched in syrup? Skinny so that you can stack up a pile and eat them in layers? SAVORY?!

Today’s post is in keeping with a week of pumpkin: pumpkin pancakes. And these. These are so puffy but light–just an irrisistable cloud of airy pumpkin sweetness. They’re very close to my pancake ideal. (Ha, I’m not even sure I know what that is.)

 

But let’s just say that I’ve eaten many, many pancakes and pumpkin pancakes don’t usually make my top five, but these blew right past numbers 4, 3, and 2 and is currently wrestling for the #1 spot. They’re that good. And they use mostly virtuous white whole wheat flour with not even that much oil!

On top of all that, they are a breeze. Time spent with these pancakes probably goes something like: 10% making, 10% eating, 80% photographing.

NICE.

It’s fall. It’s time. What are you waiting for? Get in your kitchen and make these this weekend!

Notes

Look. If you don’t have cake flour, you should buy some. I’ve tried making cake flour by subbing 2 tablespoons of cornstarch for every cup of regular flour that you use, but it’s just not the same. Maybe I didn’t sift it enough, but I made my crazy funfetti birthday cake once with homemade cake flour and once with store bought cake flour, and I could DEFINITELY tell the difference. Store-bought made the texture so much finer, with a tighter crumb and all around silkier on the tongue.

I think this would be especially if you like baking with whole grain flours. In this recipe, just a little bit is enough to give you a silky texture in your baked goods–it gives it lift and puff where otherwise whole wheat might be tougher and denser. Those pancakes have a time and place. These pancakes are meant to be pure puffs of pancake heaven.

Disclaimer: I added way more agave nectar (I don’t have syrup) and butter to these than I would normally use due to overeager photographing. If you usually like your pancakes plain and dry, like me, I would add another tablespoon of sugar to the batter. Because I like things tastylicious.

Pumpkin Pancakes
Adapted from Pinch My Salt

Yield: 12 pancakes

1 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup cake flour
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1.5 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 cup buttermilk (I used 1 cup Almond Breeze + 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar)
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
2 eggs
2 tbsp. oil
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tbsp. dark brown sugar

2 tbsp powdered sugar + few dashes cinnamon (opt)

1. In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk together the last six ingredients (buttermilk through brown sugar).

2. Start pre-heating a pan over medium low heat. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and blend together with a wooden spoon until just combined. Lumps are ok, just make sure all the flour on the bottom of the bowl is mixed in. Batter should be THICK. Thick batter = fluffy pancakes.

3. Drop pancakes by quarter cupfuls onto preheated surface. Up the temperature to medium heat. If pancakes are cooking too fast, turn heat back to medium low. Pancakes are ready to turn when the edges start to look a little dry and you can see small bubbles forming on the surface, about 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook for another 2 minutes.

Serve immediately with cinnamon powdered sugar, butter, agave, or syrup. Or place on a baking sheet in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

25 responses to “Pancake Fridays(!!!) + Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Whole Wheat Pear and Chocolate Pancakes | The Pancake Princess·

  2. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Classic Buttermilk Pancakes + Cakey Cinnamon Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  3. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Vegan Cookies ‘n Cream Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  4. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Red Velvet Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  5. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Lemon Bar Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  6. Pingback: Pancake Fridays: Whole Wheat Pear and Chocolate Pancakes | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin Scones | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  8. Ohmayum…these look like my perfect pancake. I love em thick and fluffy and stacked as high as they’ll go. I actually just had pumpkin pancakes at ihop yesterday, and while tasty they weren’t nearly pumpkiny enough for more liking (and I’m quite sure they were about a thousand times less healthy than these). Will definitely be trying your version! Thank you for sharing and thanks for stopping by Bake.Eat.Repeat!

    • Me too! In fact, your buttermilk pancakes are my go to pancakes when I just want thick, fluffy and simply delicious. I crave them all the time!! I would be so super happy if you tried these…and let me know how it goes!

      And man, I’ve been disappointed in ihop! I went a few months ago for the first time in years, and their pancakes are certainly fluffy, but not as…hefty? as I would want. And their cheesecake pancakes were just not. Cheesecakey enough.

  9. Wow! Look at those suckers! Those are really puffy, lol. They look awesome!! I love my pancakes to be thick and a bit crispy on the outside, but then I drown them in syrup and wait for the sogginess to set in. I know, I’m a weirdo. I also like soggy cereal!

    • Haha, I love soggy cereal too!! My roommate used to pour milk in her cereal and inhale it before it could really get wet, which I never understood. Soggy Special K or flaky cereal is my fav 🙂

      AND soggy pancakes are also awesome. Especially if you have a delicious syrup!

    • Thanks Kristi! I propose a swap: I’ll trade you some pumpkin pancakes for your amazing sounding chocolate chip pancakes! I, for some freak reason, am actually not usually a fan of chocolate chips in my pancakes, but if it is the BEST one you’ve found, then I believe it must be awesome! 🙂

Say hi!

