BBBO: Cake Central Cindy’s Banana Bread

I was positive that the original recipe had not come from Cake Central, but the plain, picture-less recipe fit the bill: butter,  not oil? Check. Tons of bananas? Check. Cindy (Cindi?) in the name? Check!

As soon as I took it out of the oven, I knew I had a winner. It was fragrant, with crisp edges and a nicely sugar-browned top that was soft and mostly squashy but ever so slightly springy to the touch. When I cut into it, it had a gloriously medium-tight crumb unlike some of my low-fat banana bread attempts. The moist crumb all but melted on the tongue, sweet and ripe and lush with bananas….

…but it was definitely not The One. It was way too brown*, and there were clearly visible flecks of banana in the bread. As far as I can remember, my roommate’s banana bread was pristine, in terms of banana flecks. Just pale yellow loaf goodness.

Which actually seems impossible to me, now that I think about it.

Let me be clear: I would definitely revisit this recipe in the future. It is definitely party-worthy/work-worthy/boyfriend-worthy/self-worthy of future consumption.

But in this bake off quest, no banana tidbits allowed.

*To be fair, I used white whole wheat flour in this loaf whereas she always used all-purpose flour, which could have contributed to some of the coloring.

Cindy’s Banana Bread
Adapted from Cake Central

I quartered this recipe since I knew I’d likely be eating banana bread for months instead of weeks if I made the full recipe of everything. I’m putting half of the original recipe here, since that will yield one nicely sized loaf of banana bread, or approximately 12 muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 stick of butter, melted
  • 2-3 over-ripe bananas (approximately 2 large or 3 small)
  • 1 1/4 cups of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 + 1/8 cup almond milk + a dash of apple cider vinegar (or buttermilk)
  • 1 1/2 cups of white whole flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325. Grease and flour one loaf pan.

1. In a small bowl, stir the vinegar into the milk. While your “buttermillk” curdles, mash bananas in a large bowl with a fork or potato masher, then work in the melted butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix well. Add milk mixture and vanilla.

2. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Add one cup of flour at a time to the wet ingredients and blend well with a whisk until all the flour is incorporated.

3. Pour batter into greased pan. Get ready for some major rising action (i.e. Do not fill completely to the top as the batter will rise. Fill a few cupcake wells with extra batter if need be, and check on those after 20-25 minutes).

4. Bake at 325 degrees for 70 to 80 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Nutrition facts (per 1/12 recipe): 244 cal, 10.5g fat (6.7g sat), 48mg cholesterol, 196mg sodium, 36.3g carb, 2.2g fiber, 24.1g sugar, 3.4g protein

One response to “BBBO: Cake Central Cindy’s Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread French Toast « The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

Say hi!

