Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

I didn’t mean to make these vegan.

I just meant to make them low-fat—you know, for those watching their bods for the upcoming Halloween party. With 3 tablespoons of oil, I figured this was as close as I was going to get.

Then I realized there was only one egg left in the carton. I could have tried to make do with one egg and the equivalent of 1 egg substitute, but instead I decided to go full-throttle.

I’ve been wanting to try using chia seeds in baking for a long time. Touted by some as nature’s perfect food, chia seeds provide a whopping amount of Omega-3s, protein, calcium, antioxidants and amino acids.

I mean, eggs are great too, but do they have all that? I don’t think so.

I was wary, but when I finally sunk my teeth into the final product, I had completely forgotten that the muffins were eggless. Moist but not springy or chewy, the chia seeds add an extra kickoff nutty flavor that I think normal muffins made with eggs lack.

 

Attack of the blue-tinted photos!!! (The muffin in question is the one in the middle)

Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Adapted from Texanerin Baking

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour 
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup stevia
2 T chia seeds

6 T warm water
1/4 cup honey
3 tablespoons oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 medium bananas, mashed

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a mini muffin pan and line a regular-sized muffin pan with cupcake liners. This recipe yielded 24 mini muffins and 6 regular-sized muffins.

2. Stir the chia seeds into the warm water and set aside. While this mixture gels, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and sugar in a medium-sized bowl. In another medium-sized bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Add honey, canola oil, vanilla and mashed bananas. To prevent more dish washing, I put one banana at a time in the liquid mix, and mash it with the bottom of a glass. If they’re ripe enough this will be easy. You can also puree the bananas.

3. Add the wet mix to the dry mix, but just until combined. Pour into the muffin tin. Bake mini muffins for 12-15 minutes and regular muffins for 20-25 minutes. Keep an eye on your muffins! The time between the toothpick coming out wet and coming out dry is very small.

4. Remove to a rack to cool for 15 minutes before turning out onto the rack to cool completely.

3 responses to “Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Vegan Quinoa-Quinoa Cornbread + how to make quinoa flour | The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

  2. Pingback: Peach Pie Muffins « The Pancake Princess and the Protein Prince·

Say hi!

